Tuesday, May 13, 2008

yawn... I mean grrr!

We've all got a sense of what a really pregnant lady is usually like: grumpy, tired, and uncomfortable. Hmmm. That hasn't at all described me through most of my pregnancy. The midwives keep telling me that I'm having way too much fun with all this, and that the baby is probably waiting for me to be truly done being pregnant in order to come out. It makes sense. Since it's some mysterious hormonal trigger that kicks off labor, it seems reasonable that there should be a change in disposition, not just physiology. So I'll take it as a good sign that while I still feel fine, I'm tired today and less chipper than I have been. And this the midwives echo with a chorus of, "finally!" and some crossed fingers.

1 comment:

Amanda said...

I went into labor the day my doctor tried to schedule me for an induction. I literally was lying in bed, fuming over the possibility when I heard my water break (sounds a bit like a muffled balloon popping) So maybe you just need that threat hanging over your head to get things started! Problem is, who will do the threatening?